Here is my review of the 2005 Lemond Fillmore in full commuting attire.

2005 Lemond Fillmore Commuter

When I purchased this steed from Outback bikes (Atlanta), it was not really commuting worthy (30 miles round-trip, 195-lb rider, rain/snow/shine, full change of clothes) The Fillmore skeleton is True-Temper’s OX Platinum steel with Bontrager carbon-fiber fork and seat post. Stock wheels were Bontrager Select with 20 spoke front and 24 spoke rear. It was spec’d for speed, not durability.
So I made some commuting mods. I added a rear rack (keep the load on your bike, off your back). I stole the Nite Rider Trail Rat and Vista-Lite Eclipse rear flasher (both lights are dependable, fair inexpensive) from my touring rig. I changed the wheel treads to Specialized Armadillo tires to minimize flats….minimize, not eliminate. Kryptonite Kryptolok is my lock of choice. Kryptonite did replace the barrel lock and stood behind their recall, for that I admire them. And then added MKS GR-9 Platform pedals & clips so I could ride with whatever friggin’ shoes I wanted to.
As if I didn’t really already spend enough money, it was now time to tweak some components. I have always hated drop handle-bars, especially for commuting, so I looked for something clean and simple…..and found the Soma Noah’s Arc handlebars. They are comfortable and look sweet. To finish out the handlebars, I exchanged the old mtn. bike brake lever I was using for a Paul’s E-lever. The E-lever is a clean design, however lacks enough torque (two finger design) for being the only brake lever. For grips the Ergon GP1 seem to make a lot of sense with wrist support and comfort. Well, if I had to do it again, I would spend my money on iTunes and put cheap grips on. Coffee is carried in a Nissan thermos and fits your standard bottle cage.
The stock wheels were light and fast, in my dictionary this means not durable, especially the conditions and loads that they were being exposed to. So I called John of Kovachi Wheels and he built me a sweet set of Mavic Open Sports wrapped around some high-flange Phil Wood hubs. When I first opened the Kovachi wheel box, I spun the hubs between my fingers and could not believe how smooth the bearings were. Expensive……and you get what you pay for. After many miles on a Brooks saddle on my touring rig, I opted for a new B17 Champion honey saddle (heavy and comfortable). My college bud (Matt Wagner) toyed around with carbon fiber as a hobby. He made me a carbon fiber light switch cover that I never found a good use for. Well I wrapped the inside with leather and wrapped it on the top tube as a a ding guard.
I am a firm believer in one bag. If I travel for business or long weekend trip, it all needs to fit in one bag and I don’t want to change bags if I am commuting, flying, or driving. My one bag of choice is the Tom Bihn Empire Builder. The difficult part was attaching it to a rear bicycle rack. So the current mod using a pizza stand, mounted flipped and turned to slide the bag in and strapped to. I will post again specifically about this bag and attachment method. I love this bag and that attachment method is quick and secure.
Enough about the free company endorsements, how does she ride?

I love this bike for commuting and running an errand or two. The steel frame is firm, however smooth over the terrain. The geometry works wells for my needs, no neck, shoulder or back pain. The bottom bracket region is firm while cranking uphill, no noticeable weakness. The carbon fork and seat-post are a plus with vibration reduction in the hand and ass departments. The thick Armadillo tires ride hard like rocks, no forgiveness, however flats are definitely minimized. The Phil Wood hubs are incredibly smooth. I am now sold and will always buy his hubs. I will buy again and then beg for mercy from the wife. I ride 3 +/- times a week in the Raleigh/Durham, NC area. My commute is 14 miles one way with only a few rolling hills. The terrain varies from a dirt road short-cut to bike lanes to road shoulders to the American Tobacco trail.

Future desired mods include a CETMA 5-rail front rack in lieu of rear rack, a steel fork with more rake and braze-ons, elimination of all the Lemond and Bontrager decals, and a brake lever with more torque.

9 Responses to “Here is my review of the 2005 Lemond Fillmore in full commuting attire.”

  1. 65Trader Says:

    Alright! You’re back!

  2. Bicycle Reviews Says:

    Bicycle Reviews…

    Regardless of what you race, how you race, when you race, how old or young you are, what kinda shape your in or why you race everyone wants to get faster….

  3. biker Says:

    Just wondering how long it took for John Kovachi to build the wheels, I have to admit after about 13 weeks i’m starting to worry that i may never see the one’s i’ve paid for

  4. Biker Says:

    forget it, the arrived yesterday and are perfect, all is forgiven

  5. Shri Says:

    How does the rear rack attach to the frame? Does it have eyelets?

  6. Animal Printed Bags Says:

    Animal Printed Bags…

    […]Here is my review of the 2005 Lemond Fillmore in full commuting attire. « Spokes and Beans[…]…

  7. otter box ipad Says:

    otter box ipad…

    […]Here is my review of the 2005 Lemond Fillmore in full commuting attire. « Spokes and Beans[…]…

  8. bikes for adults Says:

    bikes for adults…

    […]Here is my review of the 2005 Lemond Fillmore in full commuting attire. « Spokes and Beans[…]…

  9. revuguru.com Says:

    The first time in months that I’ve clicked on “I’m Feeling Lucky” and actually got an excellent answer. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

