Merlin Roots and Newsboy

Early Newsboy

In 1994, Merlin introduced their Newsboy bicycle with incredible reviews at Interbike. Photo album. The frame design had beautiful curves that mimic a 1950’s beach cruiser and hidden cable routing. The design was nearly perfect, except for the rear brake mounted on the chainstays. Production was limited to 100. Brushed titanium frame, curved tubes, intelligent cable routing and very limited production make this bike highly desirable. However, the lacking mud clearance and maintanence nightmare of the rear brake limits the bikes rating to 8 coffee beans.

In 2002, the Newsboy was reintroduced with front and rear disc brakes, front suspension and two sets of wheels. Merlin Newsboy is Back. With the improvement with the previous Newsboy brake design, this bike receives a rating of 9 coffee beans.

Merlin Roots

For 2005, Merlin produced the “Roots”. Similar to 1930’s bicycle frame designs, it was the desire to reproduce the early mountain bikes. Roots Website. Only 50 were produced and one can be found on Ebay for $4,500. I would be afraid to leave this bike locked anywhere. With the limited # stamped right on the frame, even a blind thief could calculate the black-market value. I love Merlin for adding a 14 speed internal Rohloff hub and a Brooks saddle. Rating 9.5 coffee beans.

12 Responses to “Merlin Roots and Newsboy”

  1. Robert Laird Says:

    Hello,
    Are you going to be comming out with another Merlin Roots and how much would it be?
    Thank you,

  2. JR Says:

    I have a Merlin Roots Rohloff in excellent – collector condition for sale. Asking $10,000.

    profinity66@yahoo.com

  3. JR Says:

    Wow, If this sucker bites than I will get doubble what I paid for it.

  4. Kahuna2200 Says:

    What would you do if a Merlin Newsboy 1994 was sitting in a box untouched and waiting to be built.

  5. RL Says:

    Are you serious? If you are, I would put it all together to take a photo or two of it and ride it around the block to show it off. Once I cruised around the block, I would disassemble the origional factory parts, put them in a box and rebuild the bike with different parts so that I wouldn’t wear the origional parts out. I would only use the frame. When I get too old to ride a bike, I would put the bike back together with the original parts and hang it on my wall like art work. When I pass, I would leave it to a very responsible sibling that will respect it like I have. My bike would always be in mint collectors condition and also well used at the same time. I believe a bike like this deserves to be ridden, not stored in a box for financial gain at some later date. You only live once, why not enjoy?

  6. Kahuna2200 Says:

    The Merlin Newsboy Original Frame in box was sold as a frame only. Thus I have the frame from Merlin 1st run in a box. I am considering selling the frame. Please note the pictures that featured the bike had a Single speed drop out requiring a coaster brake, a traditional beach cruiser. I wanted a Ti beach cruiser. The Newsboy sold is a mountain bike cruiser design. At the time it was not possible the dropout design prevented a traditional beach cruiser. So there the bike sits waiting to be liberated and taken to the hills. With the components of today the Newsboy could be one hot bike.

  7. Lucilla Vatalaro Says:

    great issues altogether, you just gained emblem reader. What would you suggest about your publish that you made some days in the past? Any positive?

  8. ray ban wayfarer online retailer Says:

    I drop a comment whenever I especially enjoy a post on a website or I have something to
    add to the conversation. It’s caused by the fire displayed in the post I read. And on this post Merlin Roots and Newsboy « Spokes and Beans. I was excited enough to create a comment πŸ™‚ I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind. Is it simply me or does it look like some of these comments come across like they are left by brain dead people? πŸ˜› And, if you are writing at other social sites, I would like to follow you. Could you make a list every one of your community sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  9. anthraconecrosis anthraconite anthracosilicosis anthracosis anthracothere anthracotic anthracoxen anthracyl anthradiol anthradiquinone anthraflavic anthragallol anthrahydroquinone anthralin anthramin anthramine anthranil anthranilate anthranilic anthranol Says:

    I like to share information that will I’ve built up with the year to help enhance group performance.

  10. Usha Segarra Says:

    I think that is one of the most important information for me. And i am satisfied studying your article. However wanna statement on some normal things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is in point of fact great : D. Just right process, cheers

  11. Ebay Selling Success Says:

    Ebay Selling Success

    Merlin Roots and Newsboy | Spokes and Beans

Leave a Reply

