2005 Lemond Fillmore Single/Fixed

Fillmore

So when your bicycle quiver contains all the utilitarian models, Road, Mtn., Tandem and Commuting, you crave and desire what you don’t have. It relates back to the mathmatical formula for the correct number of bikes to own (n+1, n = the number of current bikes you have). For many years, this desire was for a fixed-gear bike. I read a lot of hype about the simplicity and difficulty with riding one. “Don’t ever use the rear brake” “Don’t ride down a steep hill” “It takes weeks to learn to ride” “It is illegal in many cities to ride without hand-brakes”. Well the little devil voice inside had been chattering for years and hell it was time to shut him up.

My wife, son and I were out for a Saturday morning ride on the tandem with a Topeak child carrier on the back. Being the captain, I chose a right turn down towards Outback Bikes in Atlanta. No diapers, no food or drink provisions and we are headed south for 15-20 miles. The main objective at the bike shop was a new front tire for my Trek 520 commuter. Truly, this was my only objective. OutbackBikes is a cool shop, they have Arkel bags, Chrome messanger bags, fixed-gears bikes, many unusual items and bikes, most shops miss out on. While browsing through the store, I latch onto a clearance Lemond Fillmore, black with creme decals and no damn derailleurs. Flip-flop hub, good. Front and rear brakes, good. Carbon fork and seat-post, not necessary, however good. Clearance price, unresistable.

A little sweet talking to my wife, a quick swipe of the credit card, and I am the new owner of my first single/fixie. They arrange paperwork so we can pick-up the bike later in the day. We needed to ride the tandem 15-20 miles north, get our car and drive back down to pick-up the bike.

Now if you get as anxious as I with major purchases, you cannot wait. Not part of a day, not an hour, not a minute. When I want something, I want it then and there.

So more sweet talking, and I was able to talk my bride into riding the Fillmore home, while I sherpa’d the tandem and kid home. This was not a easy trek, our journey took us through the climbs of Buckhead and Marietta.

Stay tuned for riding reviews.

10 Responses to “2005 Lemond Fillmore Single/Fixed”

  1. Green Coffee Advanced Says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s
    rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

  2. http://slimgreencoffee.net Says:

    Nice weblog right here! Also your site quite a bit up
    very fast! What host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate link in your
    host? I wish my website loaded up as fast as yours lol

  3. Nuvocleanse Weight Loss Says:

    I do not even understand how I finished up right here, but I thought this submit was once great.
    I do not recognize who you are but certainly you are going
    to a famous blogger should you aren’t already. Cheers!

  4. Xtreme Nitro Review Says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative
    and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something too few people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I stumbled across this in my search for something concerning this.

  5. Home Staging Company Says:

    continuously i used to read smaller articles or reviews that as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with
    this post which I am reading at this time.

  6. how to build muscle mass at home Says:

    Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.

    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about
    setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thank you

  7. garcinia cambogia hca Says:

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the structure of your
    site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.

    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or
    two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  8. Niklas Says:

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before
    but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new tto me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking bac
    often!

  9. electra vx male enhancement pills review Says:

    Just desire tto say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness to your submit is just spectacular and that i could suppose you are knoiwledgeable in
    this subject. Well along with your permission alow me to grab
    your RSS feed tto keep updated with imminent post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding
    work.

  10. caffè Verde Controindicazioni Says:

    Hi there, everything is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing data, that’s actually good, keep up writing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

